exquisitely header
Lexus RC Review
April 19, 2017

Lexus RC Review
The past six months as an owner of a Lexus RC 200t has been great. There were some new experiences I’ve both enjoyed and didn’t enjoy as much but either way, it’s worth it. I’ve watched hundreds of car review videos over the years and always wanted to do one myself. I’m simply a modern car enthusiast, so don’t ask me about the 60’s Mustang.

I’ve received positive and negative comments about my car. At the end of the day, your own opinion matters the most. Whether you want a car that shines in style, performance, practicality, or takes you from point A to point B, the choice is yours. Haters gonna hate.

My last two cars were equipped with a six-cylinder engine and this is my first time owning a car with an inline-four turbo engine. I can feel a big difference between the type engine types and this is where the term turbo lag comes into play. Turbo lag is basically the time gap between pushing the gas pedal and the power kicking into the engine. I have some friends who live for the turbo lag and others who want a mean ol’ V8 monster. I feel indifferent about the turbo lag but it does feel pretty cool from time to time.

As far as driver’s remorse goes, I don’t feel like I regret buying the RC. I still talk about other cars I admire but that’s probably normal since I’m a car person. I was very close to buying a Mercedes-Benz CLA250 but I feel absolutely okay without it. I’m pretty comfortable with my monthly payments.

The Good Experience (Pros)

I’ve had many good experiences with this car. However, this is my opinion and my good experiences might not match up with another person’s experience. I’m also basing this off the fact that my last car was from the late 90’s.

  • Turbo monster – A couple of people called my car a turbo monster. Given the specs, the car performs when needed.
  • Decent fuel economy – 4,700 miles later, my car has an average fuel economy of 25.1 MPG. I’m comfortable with this considering how my previous car had 20MPG on average.
  • Aesthetically pleasing – I think the car looks hot both on the outside and inside.
  • Butt+back cooler – I still can’t get over the butt cooling technology in the front seats.
  • Bucket seats – I love how the seats hug my body perfectly. Must be made for petite people like me!
  • Latest technology – I’m a bit challenged when it comes to knowing the distance between objects and the blind spot monitor + backup camera = a gift from heaven.
  • Fuel data chart – In the menu under the info section, there’s a graph that shows the fuel economy by the minute. This stuff intrigues me for some reason.
The Not-So-Good Experience (Cons)

No car is perfect that that’s fine. At the end of the day, we have to accept the given flaws and enjoy the road.

There are some cons that I am purposely not including in this list because I don’t really see them as a con. For example, I don’t stuff my trunk or load my back seats with people.

  • Low ground clearance – I have to be super careful with how I take dips, bumps, and ramps. It’s a couple after all!
  • Not ideal for tall people – My boyfriend has a hard time getting in and out of my car. My petite 5’0 figure has no problem with this.
  • Lexus Enform app – The only way to remote start the car is through the Lexus Enform app, which costs at least $250/yr. Even though modern cars don’t need to spend 5 minutes warming up, it takes more than 45 seconds for the car to remotely start from the app with a good network connection. I might renew the service without the remote start option.
  • Parking woes – I would spend extra time finding a nice parking spot. I became that person…
Modifications / Add-Ons

I will admit that I thought about buying add-on’s and modifying my car a bit at some point. I really wanted a lip spoiler but never really convinced myself to get one even though it’s only $400. The car looks nice without it but at the same time, it also looks nice with it. I also thought about swapping the exhaust system for something that sounded a bit more meaty (not fart can status) but backed out of the idea because it’s a four-cylinder car. The stock exhaust tip looks nice as it is and I don’t really want to swap it out.

In Conclusion

The coupe life is not for everyone and not everyone is a car person. I respect the decisions that people make even though it’s hard when some people super rice out their cars. Since I like long-term planning, I already decided that my next car (in 10 years) will be an SUV. I was recommended a Lexus NX 200t a while back but had a strong need to get the coupe out of my system before settling for a big car and laughing at speed bumps. I’ve wanted a coupe since I was 13 years old and here I am…

I’m hoping that automakers will continue to innovate their cars and find new ways to make them look slicker than ever. I would definitely recommend my car to anyone who’s looking for a coupe. I worked hard for my money and enjoyed treating myself to a new car.

Lexus RC
Lexus RC

16 Responses

  1. Holly ☆ April 20, 2017 at 12:36 am

    People can be really opinionated about cars, but at the end of the day as long as it makes you happy then that’s all that matters. And I think your Lexus is a pretty beautiful car!

    I can’t decided what car I want next. Part of me wants something bigger like an SUV for practical reasons, but then part of me wants something ridiculous like a two-seater convertible because life is too short to not have fun!

  2. Eena ☆ April 20, 2017 at 9:01 am

    I’m not a huge fan of coupes or Lexus but this one’s actually really pretty! UGH DUDE THOSE LOW GROUND CLEARANCES ARE THE WORST. I drive a Honda Civic EX and while it’s not of a low ground clearance as yours, I still worry about because truth be told, I’ve scratched it so many times underneath hahahaha

    • Nancy ☆ April 27, 2017 at 9:38 pm

      I used to dislike Lexus’ because of their grill but kind of got over it XD. Oh man, I get scared every time I park in a plaza because they have the blocks @___@. Not fun at all!

  3. Gillan ☆ April 20, 2017 at 9:09 am

    It’s so beautiful! And there’s so many pros than cons, definitely a good buy for you! It is pretty low so you do have to take extra care on dealing with bumps. But overall, I think it’s great! Not that my opinion counts so much because I’m no car expert =))
    I do prefer sedans over SUV right now, too. My boyfriend likes SUVs because he likes to go on roadtrips with our friends. I think I’ll like SUVs in the future when I have a family of my own.

  4. Audrey | Brunch at Audrey's ☆ April 20, 2017 at 1:17 pm

    I don’t know anything about cars, and I also don’t even have my driver’s license yet 😛 But yes I agree, as long as you like the car you drive, that’s all that matters! 😀 -Audrey | Brunch at Audrey’s

  5. Pauline ☆ April 22, 2017 at 9:55 pm

    I don’t know much about cars so I found this very interesting to read! I wouldn’t have noticed the pros and cons of any car, for me as long as it can get me to places and that the seats are comfy, Im pretty much set for any car. With that said though, looking at yours – I can see why you love it so much! Your Lexus is HOT FIRE FLAMES 🔥 The exterior and interior is pretty hot!

    As long as the car makes you happy – forget the haters! You’re using it no one else 😉

  6. Chynna ☆ April 23, 2017 at 6:42 am

    I love that you’re a modern car enthuiast! I remember this has always been your thing ever since I’ve seen you on the blogosphere.

    Can’t wait to come back to LA, so you drive me around in your fancy car 😉

    I can’t drive yet, but when I do I will be looking at reviews for my first car meticulously!

    Your car is hot, jeeeeze 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

    • Nancy ☆ April 23, 2017 at 10:08 pm

      Hehe, do come back to LA! We can ride in style ;). Definitely check out reviews for any car you buy! Good to learn as much as you can before dedicating $$$ to it.
      But seriously, come visit soon ♥~

  7. Alyse ☆ April 23, 2017 at 10:02 pm

    When it comes to cars, I’m all about the smoothest ride and good driver since I get carsick so easily. Your car looks magnificent.

  8. Georgie ☆ April 24, 2017 at 8:19 pm

    Everyone definitely has their own opinion when it comes to cars! 🙂 I thought mine was really huge when I first chose to buy it, but it’s really just that the nose is long as fuck. 😆 It’s funny that your boyfriend has trouble getting into your car, haha.

    I think mine is 4 cylinder… heck, you’d know more about my car than I do, because you’re a car person. But I think because of that, I do get some turbo lag. It sounds disgusting when you’ve got your foot on the accelerator and it just makes this gross grunting noise. :/ HAHA.

    Nick’s car has a seat warmer (or butt cooler?!). In winter it’s purely fantastic. I was so amazed that a car he’d had for eight-ish years seemed so fancy. But it doesn’t have bluetooth so it’s pretty standard. 😛

    Your car is boss 😄

  9. Kim Vo ☆ April 25, 2017 at 7:20 am

    Daaaamn girl that’s a beautiful car! To be honest, it’s hard to come by cars that can properly fit small people! I would know because I’m 5’0 like you! So you do you!

    Kim | Simply Lovebirds

  10. Kya ☆ April 25, 2017 at 11:37 pm

    Great review! You’re 100% right when you say it’s your own opinion that matters. You are the one who has to drive the car, so it only matters to you. 😀 It sounds like it has a lot of great features and will be really good for the next ten years. My car also has really low clearance and something I have to be careful of. Once you get used to that it’s not a problem though. 😀

    Personally, I think the car looks awesome! 😀

    • Nancy ☆ April 27, 2017 at 9:31 pm

      Exactly! “my ride, my problem” XD. Oh man, I have to drive sideways to not scrape @___@. Though, it’s totally worth it for the fun on the flat road. ^__^

  11. Tara ☆ April 30, 2017 at 3:19 am

    I laughed at your comment about being a modern car enthusiast. I have to say I prefer the modern cars, too XD Nothing wrong with vintage, but I definitely prefer contemporary things.

    It’s good you have your pros and cons with the car you chose. I think it’s good it has good fuel economy, that it looks good inside and out. I don’t think I quite understand bucket seats, but I’m short, too, so maybe I’ll understand it one day! The fuel data chart — knowing you, I can see why this appeals to you greatly! 😀

    It’s kind of funny that the car works out for short people, but not for tall people! And wtfffff! That price for the app is crazy expensive! O____O I didn’t even think there are apps that expensive!

    I’m glad the car is working out for you overall. Coupe cars are not my thing (two-doors drive me nuts for some reason!), but I can see how it’s good for certain things. As long as you’re happy with the car, that’s all it matter!

  12. Teesh ☆ May 1, 2017 at 6:25 am

    OK, I’m not a car enthusiast. I mostly just judge cars on how they look and that car looks nice! 🙂 That sucks for your boyfriend though. I don’t get how people can hate on other people’s cars.. unless it’s affecting you or you’re paying for it, keep your opinions to yourself. 😉

  13. DM ☆ May 20, 2017 at 10:54 am

    Nice review! Beautiful car and amazing outfit young lady.

exquisitely.me
est. two-thousand sixteen
homecontactarchivepolicybloglovin'webhost

Exquisitely.Me Logo